Four-day tour to Scotland, Saturday 28th to Tuesday 31st October 2017

ButterTubs pass

Daily ride schedule
Saturday – to The Buccleuch Arms, Moffat via the Yorkshire Dales
Sunday – to the Garth Hotel, Grantown-on-Spey in the Cairngorms via Stirling
Monday – to The Buccleuch Arms, Moffat via Perth
Tuesday – home via the North Pennines

We’ll ride about 200 miles each day, with plenty of stops to see the sights and take photos, and have coffee, lunch and tea.


It’s fantastic value from around £50.00 per person per night including breakfast.

Check out the hotels’ websites at –


Rooms are available on a first-come-first-served basis so if you’re interested, I’d advise you to act very soon. If you wish to keep costs to a minimum, you may wish to make an arrangement with another person or persons to share a twin or family room. Please contact the hotels yourself to make bookings for Saturday 28th and Monday 30th October at The Buccleuch Arms (01683 220 003) and for Sunday 29th October at the Garth Hotel (01479 872836).   Apparently the manager at the Garth Hotel has booked out all her rooms in my name so the online booking system may show that no rooms are available. When you call, you’ll need to mention my name to avoid being told that the hotel is fully booked

At the time of writing (20/09/207), The Buccleuch will be full on 28th October and has only a couple of rooms available on 30th. Please call to check for any cancellations. It has an arrangement with two B&Bs in the town to take its overspill. These are 29 Well Street on 01683 221905 and Lime Tree Guest House on 01683 220001.

Also, you can reserve a bike shed at the Buccleuch for an extra £5 per night. There’s one left on 28th and there are four left on 30th.

If you tell me by email at that you have booked your accommodation, I’ll add you to the list of participants on this event’s web page.

The following people have booked their accommodation for this tour.

Mike Jordan
Nigel Brownbridge
Stuart Davis
Richard Bruce and Lyn
Ian Edley
Martin Peach
Leon Maughan
Owen Wright
Dennis Dobson
Bernard Akers
Andrew Porteous




Mike Jordan